Do the Sh!t That Scares You


I have two fears in life.

Heights.
Public speaking. *

I did one of those things this week. Hint: it did not involve heights.

A couple weeks ago, I was asked by a friend to be a part of the panel speaking about social media for the New North Social Media Breakfast, (#nnsmb on Twitter) a local social media group that meets once a month here in the area. The other three members of the panel are good friends of mine and I was happy and honored to be a part of the group. And then. Then, I realized this would involve public speaking. Whoops!

Part of my New Years resolutions plan was to “do the shit that scares me” and this is an A1 primo opportunity to test this baby out!

I was assigned managing multiple social media accounts, link shortening tools and Hashtags (of which I am a known fan). These are all areas I am comfortable with and know, enough about to create a very insightful and organized presentation (in my head) and a cute little Prezi, I had it all planned out.
But then they handed me the mic.

Ok, let me back up a little bit.
I had had some nerves, but I was well rehearsed. I know that I do better when I don’t plan things out too terribly much, but I knew what I wanted to say and how I wanted to say it. I even know what wacky improved jokes I was going to whip out of the blue. I had my laptop ready to hide behind at the table, my cheat sheet of notes in case I blanked…. I was set!

Yeah, um… No.

This was a stand up in front of a crowded room, holding a microphone while being broadcast live on the Internet.

Crap.
I bucked it up, I mustered… I only swore, like twice! I survived.

Once we were all four finished with our presentations and seated, it was time for Q&A. For this part, I was fine. I answered my question about Pinterest with confidence, and maybe some charm.

So all in all, one down and stronger for it! I loved being a part of it, and (maybe with the help of a shot of whiskey beforehand) I’d be happy to do it again!

Bring. It. On.
*and birds, clowns, creepy crawleys and inanimate objects staring at me.

In other “things that scare me” news….
Now that unGeeked has been canceled, I have been looking at other events to go to. Because my boss rocks! I spent the day looking at some other conferences and at this point it is down to two. The #140conf in Montreal and Blogworld Expo in New York. The way things are looking right now, all things are pointing Blogworld. Then I realized… the idea of spending a week in NYC scares the wits out of me!

Stay tuned!

***UPDATE***

Where do I begin with the updates? I’ve done so much since I originally posted this.

*While  I didn’t get to NYC – I did roam the streets of Chicago on my own while  I was there for a conference

*I rode a ferris wheel 

*I spoke at a conference

*I was interviewed live on the Pulse Network

3 thoughts on “Do the Sh!t That Scares You

  1. Now THAT’S what I’m talkin’ ’bout Carrie.

    It’s like we discussed.

    The best way to deal with our fears–since we live with the beasts every day–is to lean into them!

    Congrats that you tackled them on head on with bull horns!
    :)

    • Thanks Berni!

      I’ve noticed since I first wrote this – the things on the list are still scary, I’m finding much more composure when I tackle them. (Well, except for when I ran for my life like a panicked little girl from a bird in a park in Chicago)

      I’m a great big all of “bring it on”! :)

  2. Pingback: Lights! Camera! The Pulse Network! | Foxcities Social

Leave a Reply

